Absence explained and other stuff you probably don’t care to know

So, yes. As Emily so wonderfully pointed out, I haven’t posted since sometime in November. Really, I’ve just been so busy with school and stuff that I haven’t had time or motivation to post.

Because of rodeo art, I’ve been going to bed super late all this week and staying after school until eight to work on it (my amazing art teacher got us some pizza for dinner, though). Then my English project is due this Tuesday, so I really should be working on both those things right now, along with my other homework. Also, service hours are due Monday at school, so I’m cramming them in this weekend by helping out at church. By the way, did I mention midterms are coming up? Safe to say that I’ve been really stressed lately. Anyway, onto happier subjects, or at least something other than my stress levels.

Hopefully you all had a good thanksgiving. Mine was spent at my godparents’ (great aunt and uncle) house, then spent the night with them, my niece, five cousins, and other aunt and uncle. I had a really fun time, and while I was there, I had a life-changing experience. (Emily, shush, don’t judge me. I think you know what’s coming.)

I have been waiting to see Frozen ever since I heard Idina Menzel would be voicing Elsa and singing. My godparents asked my niece and girl cousins if they wanted to go see it, and yes, as little girls they obviously said yes. Me? I came running out of the bedroom to tell them out of breath that yes, we really really really should go see Frozen. (This was opening day.)

So we went, dragging our uncles and boy cousins to go see it with us, and was able to get tickets to see it in 3-D. I was super excited and probably was acting like a little kid, and the second the movie began, I kept telling my cousins to be quiet because “my girl” was going to be singing soon.

I kid you not when I say I am beginning to get goosebumps jut typing this. No pun intended, Frozen gave me chills. The music was so perfect and the characters so hilarious and relatable, and just everything… You may think I’m overreacting, but I got choked up every time I tried to tell my mom about. Idina Menzel, Kristen Bell, and the animation was just so perfect. I got to see it again today (after listening to the songs since I first saw the movie) and it was even better the second time. Sure, it was a bit cheesy and kiddish at parts, but it was still really good. Elsa, of course, is my favorite, and I’m planning on cosplaying as her.

Okay, another thing. Don’t laugh–I’ve been really considering taking voice lessons, and after my mom brought up me learning to sing for the hundredth time, I finally asked if lessons were really something I could do. I’ve been really wanting to learn since I was little, and the thought is really exciting but makes me nervous. My mom knows a teacher, so I might give it a try.

On a completely unrelated note, Ikkicon is in December. Yesterday night I met up with my friends Hannah, Colton, and Lucas-sempai (it was a mini anime party/”learning experience”) and after my mom got talking with sempai, she wanted to invite him to go with us. All right–I’m surprised. He’s a really cool guy (and a classic otaku if you know what I mean), but my mom isn’t usually thrilled at the idea of me talking to guys who are older than me. I think it would be pretty cool if he, and maybe Colton and Hannah, got to all go together though.

Okay, speaking of guys… Okay, see, I may occasionally talk to guys at bookstores or other places (usually about anime), but it’s just a short conversation, not anything serious. All in all I try to avoid the males gender at all costs, PERIOD. But–okay: banquet is coming up at school, and there’s this one guy who is really cool, polite, smart, and all that stuff girls are always saying is a must, and I don’t “like” like him or anything, but since it usually seems as if he’s alone, I thought I’d…well, you know, ask him out. Actually, not “out” out and nothing is set in stone and it’s all platonic, but I thought it might be good for him to go and maybe invite some of his friends to join our group there. But, yeah… it was pretty foreign to me. So there’s that.

I’d better be working on my homework now, but I shall part with a gift: my favorite song from Frozen, sung of course by Idina Menzel.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3G31wNCwskI (color segment)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I36Qw86-UH8 (full with lyrics)
AND WOULD YOU LOOK AT THAT ANIMATION. I mean, seriously, it’s beautiful. You gotta give them credit for that.

UPDATE: For anyone interested in the animation factor, go here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OKwFSrfJXD0

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. icedmocha34
    Dec 08, 2013 @ 23:01:55

    Ok, if you don’t tell me the name of this guy in the next *checks watch* two hours….I will hunt you down!!!!!!! Who is it!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  2. icedmocha34
    Dec 09, 2013 @ 03:07:46

    curiosity will kill the cat lady!!!!
    the guy you’re taking to the banquet…who is he?????????????

    Reply

  3. icedmocha34
    Dec 11, 2013 @ 01:57:13

    ….sure you will….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

